Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 17th, 2011


 

Upon return from Ireland, I tiptoed into the bedrooms of my youngest children to kiss their foreheads at just after 2am, their time, only to find that they were awake, and not feeling well.  Now, four days later, we are dealing with a cold that refuses to let go.

My three youngest have, in various combinations, the following:

Sore throat

Coughing

Sneezing

Headache

Mild fever

Upset stomach

Upset bum

Tiredness

Crankiness

To top it all off, they are sick and tired of the following, after so many days of being sick:

Chicken Noodle soup

Gingerale

Toast

Their beds

The bathroom

Each other

I don’t blame them.  It’s never as fun to be sick as one imagines it might be whist sitting in a classroom, bored with whatever is going on at school. That’s when the daydreams start about lying on a couch while mom brings cups of tea or warm honeyed toast to you while you watch cartoons and movies. 

Then the reality of being sick brings with it nothing but misery, and, in my house, misery DOES NOT love company.

The kids are getting so bored of one another and so tired of just laying there doing nothing that they’re starting to bicker over the dumbest things. 

Some of the fights they have had include:

Stay out of my room

Stay away from my stuff

Don’t touch me

Don’t look at me

Don’t mock me (personal fave, what ten year old says don’t mock me?)

I had the dog first

I had the remote first

You took my spot

You took my book

You moved my cup

And general “I hate you’s” and “You’re ruining my life”

It’s no wonder I like heading out to the theatre. I mean, I can get all the drama I want at home, but with the kids it’s like watching the same playback of an episode of Seinfeld over and over.  Sure, you might laugh at the antics at first, but eventually, you just want to junk punch Kramer for being such a tool. 

I feel for them though.  It’s no fun to be sick.  Especially now that the weather is on a slight upswing and with us living literally across the street from the school, we can hear all the kids basking in the warmer weather just outside of our doors. 

I hope they get well soon.  If for no other reason then to give mommy a break from playing referee to their miniature wars. And so I can kick them outside to play. Because after a week like this? There’s a lot of empty wine bottles in the recycling box.

Read Full Post »