Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 16th, 2017


This is the world that Shawn and I built, and there is no place I’d rather live. It’s a long weekend.  For a decent portion of the world, it’s easter weekend, but, since we don’t subscribe to christian or catholic belief systems, for us, it’s just bonus family time.  And it’s been wonderful.  I’ve texted with both of my older children who no longer live at home, I’ve talked to one of my sisters and my sisters in law, but it’s what we’ve shared together that really makes me proud of the family we have built. 

I love that we still do so many things as a family.   Grocery shopping,  clean up the yard, laugh, cook, clean, watch movies in a snuggled heap in the basement.  Even shave the dogs fur, we did in a cluster in the bathroom. A hilarious chore in which Kermit the dog shed his fur and we all began to wear it.  He now, by the way,  resembles a baby goat and is pouncing around the house like a crazed maniac as if the new lightness of weight is literally lifting him off the floor with each step.  

I love that my middle daughter spent time yesterday helping me lay out fabric and cut a pattern for a dress.  She wants me to teach her how to use the sewing machine, and I love that.   

Earlier this week I teased my husband on Facebook that he should buy my ballet shoes (I’ve always wanted them) and today he ordered them.  He gets my desire for things like this and he humours me because he loves me.  

Friday we had a very serious talk with our girls about sex.  They are 17 and nearly 19 and we run a fairly open household where no subject is forbidden.  In this case, it was about how important communication is, how important it is to have a healthy relationship with your own body and not to feel shame as a first response to sexual health.  I grew up in a strict household that taught abstinence before all else, and I spent many years filled with shame about my body.   It’s not what I want for our children.  Thankfully we’ve been blessed with kids who are excellent self-advocators.  Kids who know their worth, and conversations like the one we had Friday make me prouder than ever of what we’ve taught them.  

Fridays talk during the day led to a talk Friday night.  A girl at school with my two youngest was being cyber bullied by some boys.  A couple of those boys, while not doing much of the actual bullying, we’re a part of the group chat and were contributing by way of “yeah” and “lol” comments.  My youngest stood up to them.  He called them out on their behaviour and spoke up.  It’s takes a strong person to stand up to bullies and a stronger one to stand up to his friends, but again, the kinds of people we’ve raised our kids to be, and Shawn and I watched as our boy behaved as a man.  

We’ve had such moments of pride this weekend and almost all of them revolved around our children and the people they’ve become, and are still becoming.  

Yesterday afternoon as Shawn and I sat on our front porch in the sunshine, we shared more than one look across the porch.  We are so lucky, we often tell one another.  So lucky.  It hasn’t always been easy, in fact sometimes it’s been downright painful and difficult,  but all the pain and “hard” is worth it in the long run.  Because this is the land we live in, the world we created, and I love every bit of it.  

Read Full Post »

