Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 8th, 2017


I’m a busy, working mom.  I have a full time job, I have several home projects on the go, I read all the time, I knit, I write and I enjoy cooking and baking from scratch.  I’m also a woman of the modern world so I usually have my phone on me and yes, I’m on it likely far more than is healthy. I get it.  But I do love my phone.

So its not unusual to find me using my phone while doing something else.  I prop it up against my lunch bag in the kitchen in the morning while eating cereal before work so I can watch videos.  I get on video chat with my daughter in Ontario while I’m cooking.  I have been known to occasionally “live tweet” an episode or two of survivor and yes, like many people, I take my phone to the bathroom.

No, I’m not worried about dropping it into the toilet.  I’m over forty and I’ve had five babies   These thighs are no joke.  Phone on the toilet is not so bad, as multitasking goes, right? But what if you add a third element? Because I do.

I brush my teeth on the toilet a lot. And I’ve been known to brush my teeth in the toilet *while also* being on my phone.

Which isn’t so bad…until you read something funny, with a mouthful of toothpaste foam, and accidentally sputter-laugh, which shoots a healthy amount of white Colgate and saliva into your exposed panties/jeans.

I mean, I don’t mind being minty fresh.  I just didn’t ever picture the minty fresh breath smell to come from my vagina.  And of course this happened to me after lunch so I still had a good portion of my day to get through.  Do you know how difficult it is to use public bathroom grade paper towel to scrub foam from your jeans?  It’s not easy, my friends.  The towel couldn’t handle the vigour I needed and started to disintegrate.  So I got more towel and tried blotting.

My panties were soaked from trying to rinse out the paste-spit. They smelled like winter fresh whitening paste, fresh, sharp and slightly chemically. My jeans had a weird wet and pasty white splotch on them with tiny pills of shitty quality paper towel clinging to them.

So I did what any normal woman over forty would do.  I zipped up. And I owned that shit.   I mean, it’s funny.  And if you can’t laugh at yourself and your goo-spotted jeans, well then my friend, you’re taking life too seriously.

I still brush my teeth and pee and stalk Facebook on my phone.  But now, I keep my head turned to the side.  And that, my friends, is a life lesson learned.

 

 

Read Full Post »

